MAG Age?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Men's Artistic Gymnastics

alongfortheride

Proud Parent
Is age as big a deal in men's gymnastics as it is in women's? I know I see discussions where people wonder if their child is "too old" to be good in gymnastics? Can't anyone do well if they try hard? I am new to this w/ my son. He is a 7 year old, going to Future Stars this June, and competing level 5 next year. Is there a specific age he's "supposed" to be at certain levels? Just curious. I never realized it was an issue until reading these forums, although obviously female gymnasts are typically fairly young. . .but I know most male gymnasts can compete longer (older), true? Is age something that matters to coaches? Judges?

From what I've gathered, age is much less of a "thing" for boys than it is for girls. Girls in this sport peak much, much earlier. Your son is on the very, very young side for his level. (And I thought future stars didn't start until age 8?)

For perspective, Sam Mikulak was a ten-year-old level four.

Age doesn't matter that much and being your son is in a what seems to be good gym he's gonna do well

Fortunately, for boys there is more time to progress and growth is desirable. ie boys build muscle mass after puberty. One challenge for boys is longevity. ie too much too soon. Sounds like your son is talented. As long as they are building his foundational skills well, he i most definitely ahead of the curve.

I do see being older a bit of a challenge. My ds is 12yo, his competition age this year was 11yo. He was level 5. He still has a lot of time to progress, but is considered old and will have less chances of nationals unless he skips levels.

As does not need to be a big deal in either MAG or WAG, there are plenty of people who are outside the norms.