Parents Bar for At Home Use?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Quadqueen

Proud Parent
Hi all,

I'm new to Chalk Bucket and the forums. I am a parent of a 7-year-old new Level 5 gymnast, coach of preschool/recreational gymnastics and a former gymnast. I'm wondering if anyone has ever purchased one of the junior bars/single bars for at home use? There are many of these bars on the market, but they can get pretty expensive if they are to be used for L5 skills (kips) and up. I'm wondering if it is worth it to purchase one. DD is very close to getting her kip but she's been that way for a while and I just want to do what might help..thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Oh god.....okay, I'll weight in first.

I have one for my 7YO. She works mill circles, back hips, front hips, shoot thrus. Also uses it for some conditioning.

It's been worth it for my daughter but it was purchased for her to just have fun, not to get new skills.

Welcome to the Chalk Bucket!

At your daughter's age, I wouldn't think it would be worth it. They cost a few hundred dollars and it really won't be safe for her to do any more advanced skills than the kip on it. Once she moves on to higher levels, it will be collecting dust b/c it won't be safe for her to do more advanced routines on it.

What you could do is get a chin up bar for the doorway (around $30) and let her do some chin ups at home for arm strength. Extra conditioning always helps when you are trying to get a new skill.

Oh god.....okay, I'll weight in first.

I have one for my 7YO. She works mill circles, back hips, front hips, shoot thrus. Also uses it for some conditioning.

It's been worth it for my daughter but it was purchased for her to just have fun, not to get new skills.

Welcome to the Chalk Bucket!

thank you for the input...Bella's mom, what did you mean by "Oh God"...??