Big gym versus little gym

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Shewhodrives

Proud Parent
Hello. I'm new to CB and I have a questions that I'm wondering if you could help me with. My daughter started gymnastics in April of 2010 and just turned six mid-Nomember. We have been pretty happy with our "big name" gym, but recently I had my daughter evaluated by a smaller gym and she was invited to join their pre-team as a L2. (Background.....big gym doesn't have open gym and we visited little gym for open gym and I asked to have her evaluated, hmmmm...wondering about the wisdom of that now.) I know that my daughter is on the "big gyms" prospect list, but no guarantee's and my daughter really wants to be on the pre-team; she can't get enough gymnastics. Big gym really is just that a well know gym and little gym is a great gym, not a well known or known as tough.

Thanks for any advice you are willing to give. :confused:

Just for what it's worth, I think you need to let her go where she is happiest at this point in time. You want to encourage her to have fun and stick with the sport. If she REALLY wants to be on the pre-team at the smaller gym, so be it. Those Big gyms truly are not a great fit for everyone. As your daughter reaches the higher compulsory levels/optionals her goals as well as yours, may change. She has time.

Does the little gym have higher level girls that do well? I had to move my dd from a gym that was great up to level 5, and after that the girls always quit.
Is there a good program that your dd enjoys at the big gym? Level 2 doesn't exist at many gyms. Sometimes it,s a way to hook the parents.

Wow! Sounds like my post from August! My dd got two team invitations for the fall (she's also 6) and we picked the "big gym". Background...she started gym at the "big gym" and it's closer to home but didn't have summer classes so we took her to summer camp and summer classes at "little gym" where she also got invited to team.