Can I still compete if i'm a beginner?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

F

Flipsandgrips2002

One helpful parent on this forum told me that WAG in the UK is reserved for competitive gymnasts. Does this mean I can still get on a team? What options are after rec? Sorry for the daft question

- flipsandgrips2002

there are many different levels of competition. We have 14 year old girls who squat-on on vault and cartwheel on floor, and we have 7 year olds who are training Tsuks on vault and giants on bars, all can compete at different levels.

there are many different levels of competition. We have 14 year old girls who squat-on on vault and cartwheel on floor, and we have 7 year olds who are training Tsuks on vault and giants on bars, all can compete at different levels.
So if i just began gymnastics, could I join a team ( i'm over 11 )

we don't have a "team" like the states.

All of our girls are in age and ability level groups, and all have the opportunity to compete at least once or twice a year. The more able girls have more opportunities and compete more.

What skills do you have on which pieces ?

we don't have a "team" like the states.

All of our girls are in age and ability level groups, and all have the opportunity to compete at least once or twice a year. The more able girls have more opportunities and compete more.

What skills do you have on which pieces ?
I'm a self taught so i haven't done beam and bars.
I participated in a small gymnastics workshop in school so i just know how to jump over a vault lol. I can do a handstand, roundoff, almost splits, backbend,front limber, pop cartwheel, dive cartwheel, forward and backwards roll, forward roll into straddle stand, almost side aerial, almost got my front handspring, working on backbend kick over and a few leaps.