Parents Do I say something?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

dancingimmie

Proud Parent
Ok, so I'm a newbie. My DD is a new level 3 &, since my gym has no pre team or level 3 team except for my DD and 1 other girl, they train with the xcel silvers/gold.
So here's my problem; a couple of weeks ago I showed up 30 minutes early to pick up my DD and see what's going on. When I walk in I can hear the compuslerary coach yelling across the gym trying to correct my DD. Apparently the xcel coach, for the lasts 4 months, has been teaching them the wrong turn, arms on the straight jump and prep for a leap. They weren't even standing on the beam properly for compuslerary. The HC isn't there on that particular day and communication is not so great. Do I say something? She has only been on "team " for the last 4& 1/2 months and 4 of them they were practicing wrong. To make matters even more complicated I teach ballet to the optionals... Being a former professional ballet dancer I know how important technique is. On the same note I know this is a good gym and this is something new they are doing. They have never competed level 3 until now. Should I let them know that this has been going on or do I bite my tounge???

Why do they have two girls doing level 3? Who is the compulsory coach if they are not coaching the level 3s? That said, in some places even compulsory season is a few months off, so even if they were learning turns, leaps, and such I'm not really sure it's going to be a problem for them to pick up the level 3 routine. The correct way to stand on beam is the same for compulsory, optional, and Xcel.