Parents What to look for in a new gym?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

CLgym

Proud Parent
Tomorrow my DD will be evaluated at a new gym because we are considering a change (details re: our situation are in a different thread but, in a nut shell, DD is being directed from pre team to an Xcel program rather than JO at her current gym despite having an expressed interest in JO). I have no gymnastics background, and have only been a gym parent for about a year. What should I be looking for tomorrow with respect to the new gym?

Also, I pulled State meet results for a couple of levels and was wondering whether I should be concerned that JO gymnasts from the new gym generally don't place anywhere near as high as the JO girls at the current gym? Of course, my DD would not be a JO gymnast at the current gym; but I was wondering if meet results were an important factor to consider anyway because they reflect on quality as a whole?? (New gym does not have Xcel, so I couldn't do any comparison of those programs.)

Any tips re: what to look for tomorrow are appreciated. Thanks.

Consider this:

Old gym clearly doesn't allow everyone to compete in their JO program, and likely just selects the cream of the crop.

New gym seems to be more open to more kids. It seems likely to me that some of the kids (like your daughter) that might compete for the new gym may not score as well as the "cream of the crop" kids in the old gym and a lot of the kids that your new gym has competing would have been directed to XCEL at old gym. That's okay. Wouldn't you rather be at a gym that does the best for your daughter versus one that wouldn't give her a chance?