Coaches Fearful Gymnast?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

CoachG

Coach
This is the first time I've posted but I'm hoping someone can help me.

I have a gymnast in my squad, she the oldest gymnast in my squad at 11 (all my other gymnasts are 8/9). Originally she was in our club's elite squad, but she was dropped down to my squad about 3 years ago due to the number of problems she has. I have been working with her for 3 years and just cant seem to get anywhere.

Her main issue is the bars, after a few months she competed bars with a basic routine of circle up, back circle, squat on to catch, circle over, undershoot dismount. But the training session after this competition she refused to do the squat on to catch. after a month of refusing to do it, we started from the beginning: squat on to a floor bar, gradually building up to the full move, it took almost a year to get back to doing the full skill and she competed it at grades that year. Then again the training session after the competition, she refused to do it. We went back to the beginning with this move and we are still struggling with it. I have done every drill I can find, I've tried using key words, supporting, positive coaching. I have even tried being the harsh coach that phones her mum every time she did not do it (at her mother's request), I have sent her home, I have left her crying, I am totally at a loss of what to do now. Sometimes it seems like fear is holding her back, sometimes it seems like she just doesnt want to do it. We have the occasional week where she will just go and do it, no support, no coach under the bar, no mats, then all of a sudden we go back to square one with her crying and refusing to even get on the bars.