Flip Fest for 7 yo?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I've been intrigued by the threads about Flip Fest. My dd loves going to camp, but they have always been day camps. Has anyone had experience sending their 7 yo to Flip Fest and how did they handle it? Did they go alone or with other friends? I obviously think having some friends/teammates go would be best, but if we can't find any parents willing to send their kids, going alone might be the only option. I also saw that as a parent, you can apply for one of the positions (I'm a registered nurse and EMT) and be there for the week, but I don't know how much interaction that would be anyway.

I don't know anything about being a parent at the camp but my daughter went last summer at 7 years old and she absolutely LOVED it. She had a blast and has been talking about going back ever since. LOL She did know most of the girls in her cabin (they were her ex-teammates; long story) but she also met several new ones, including the girls she trained with (the training groups are different from the cabin groups and are skills/level based). She liked all the coaches and even got to learn front walkovers on beam with Nastia Liukin! She wasn't homesick at all and only called me once- to ask for more money! LOL

A side note, Boo just got a Christmas card in the mail yesterday from the two Olympians who run Flip Fest. I thought that was really nice.

I was a counselor at Flip Fest a few years ago and most weeks I had little ones in my cabin. Some did better than others, but overall I think they all did really well. Some came with teammates and some just made friends with other girls in the cabin from other gyms. Homesickness was really not a huge problem, at least for my groups. Girls who stayed for