Handstand forward roll on beam?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

My DD is 8 turning 9 this year. She is currently achieving lots of new skills, one she did today was a handstand forward roll on high beam. She is relatively new to competitive gymnastics and I'm just learning as she goes too (a lot of info from here) but this has me thrown. I've never seen one be performed, or even heard of one being done before on beam, only floor. What would she be working towards by doing it? Beam is a particular strength of hers.

I have never seen one performed at competition, handstands yes, forward rolls yes, free forward rolls yes, but not handstand forward roll.

Whether a careful act of planning or co-incidence, when dd started on beam , learning the hand stand forward roll really helped her hit more vertical hand stands. She felt much more comfortable trying when she knew she had a safe way to bail out under her belt

Thanks, yes that seems the most likely explanation, helping to develop the handstand on beam as I too have never seen one performed in competition. She was pretty happy about it, all contributing to the abundance of confidence she has at the minute. :)

I have seen them competed in lower levels a few times. They always look really impressive when done well. Makes sense that they would help with handstand work.

My dd learned it to help her hit a better handstand. One she has a better sense of where vertical is and two she's not afraid of falling over. She now knows to roll if she feels like she's falling.

Jenny when you say you've seen them competed in lower levels can you be more specific please? Just so it gives a greater sense of what she may be heading towards, competition-wise, in the future. Or if it is simply just to assist in hitting that vertical handstand. Thanks for all your responses guys, again great help! :)