high school gymnastics

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello this is my first year doing high school gymnastics. I have been in gymnastics for ten years and I've had four different gyms but I've never had a coach like this. A week ago I was at a meet and I threw my double twist for the first time since July. My foot caught the floor at 1 and 3/4. I twisted my knee and I think I tore a ligament (I'm going back into the doctor tomorrow). I didn't tell my coach that I hurt it until after the meet. Floor was our second event and after my routine I was crying and he ignored me. After the meet I told him that I really hurt my knee. He didn't say anything and at the next practice he was mad that I couldn't do anything. At the meet another girl hurt herself (she sprained her finger) and he was really worried and told her not to compete if it hurts. So far this year my coach refuses to put me on varsity even though I am doing the biggest skills on the team and out scoring most of the varsity girls. So I was wondering if most high school gymnastics coaches are like this? And if I should come back to school gymnastics next year? Thanks?:)

That's not the experience I've had with highschool gymnastics! But it mainly depends on the area you are in, and who the coach is. My highschool coach isn't a highly qualified coach. She's pretty much there to supervise, and the captain of the team "coaches" us more than her. There is no JV gymnastics in my district, its all varsity. It sounds like you are in a bad situation, my advice would be DO NOT do it if the coach is the same, but you should tell your school's athletics department about your problems with that coach, and they will try to help sort it out. (Whether that means talking to the coach, or getting a new one, I couldn't tell you) But just don't do things that hurt you, regardless of what your coach says.