On and Off Mental Blocks- Only sometimes??

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Do you have reasoning behind your mental blocks?

• Total voters

Clarecrazy

Gymnast
Hello gymnasts ;),
So I have been frustrated lately with a backwards mental block problem.
I have been doing gymnastics for almost three years and I competed RO-BHS-back tuck this past season. Before the season I had to have someone stand there when I did my back tucks. By mid season I did them on my own. However by the end of season I had to stopped training tumbling for a few weeks because of an illness. I competed my back tuck at my state meet but I needed to have someone stand on the floor because I became unconfident again. :(
It seems that I can do RO BHS back tucks with someone standing there, but without them sometimes I can't even do a RO BHS... I don't do back tucks on tumble track either.
I usually start out practices strong and can do RO BHSs, but by the end of practices or after too many repetitions I seem to suddenly stop and get mental blocks... Then I get mental blocks for just doing standing back handsprings. Sometimes I'll do RO-BHS-back tucks if I get a coach to first stand there for the back handspring and run along with me and then stand there as I do my tuck. It seems like connecting my first BHS to my RO and being aware I'm going to connect another skill onto that freaks me out the most. :eek: I'm not sure why but it's been frustrating lately not knowing when this will come and go... This has been an on and off process throughout the months.
What's really weird is that before and after practices I can do RO-BHS-back tucks and standing back handsprings in my house and in my yard, but once I'm at practice on floor I freak out and can't do the skills. o_O