WAG please all coaches help me! Giants in less than 6 months?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I am a coach and currently I have a L5 group. All of the kids are very likely to be good L7 next season, we did a lot of upgrading recently. We got a new girl last month and she has been doing really well! She is a real angel and fits perfectly into our team.

She is pretty ready for L7 also, she has floor and beam ready, just needs to gain a little more confidence. The thing we have a problem with is bars. She is 12 and very big for her age (5’). She has good bars so far, but at her old gym has not been introduced into giants or bigger tap swings!
She can kip cast to handstand, she has nice sole circles and clear hips, als her tucked Flyaway. Our gym requires giants to get to L7, so this is a real problem!

I have to say she is pretty strong, she has strong arms and a strong core and is pretty muscular over all.

So if she wants to be a L7 next season, she would need to get her giants on real bar in about 4 months and then in between the bars in her routine by about August or September. So in about 6 months? Is this even possible? She said she is willing to try, but she is really afraid she won’t make it because oft he low bar because she is so tall! All the other girls do not need to care about the low bar yet, hence they are all smaller.

Do you think we could give it a go? I really want to, but I usually start with giant drills and bigger tap swings all the way from PreTeam, so I doubt this is possible.

Any tips?

Certainly possible. Put all your energy into being positive about the outcome and let that sentiment set the expectation for her. If you make her height an issue she'll get the message the skill is a stretch for her. Five feet tall is not a spoiler for the skill.