MAG Please share some tips on conditioning

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Men's Artistic Gymnastics
OK since I'm really a newbie in my gymnastics class(previously a swimmer) I'd like to ask for some kind of workout for MAG, the only things I managed to do at practice were crunches,pullovers and push ups but I was stunned when some 8 years old kids beat me at doing them. They bodyweight strength is insane thanks to gymnastics so that brought me here asking for some exercises to help me in gymnastics.

D does daily conditioning at home (on his own). He does pushups, situps, flexibility routines. He does pull ups on the pull up bar. He does v-ups on his bar. He also adds in some running for cardio and mushroom. Wall handstands, press handstands, planches, mannas, are all good too.

I think the key woudl be consistency. D will do what they do at gym at home as far as conditioning goes. Good luck!

I am sure some of the coaches on here will be able to give you more :)

As the above user stated the biggest part is consistency, as for cardio, you're a swimmer so don't waste time with it and gymnastics is all short burst power oriented anyway so no need for excess cardio. Focus on the fundamental shapes I'd: hollow, arch, handstands. From there it's all about core strength and lots of it!

Search for Gymnastics Warrior on Facebook. It's a page put on by the tumbling coach at my old gym. It's daily-ish conditioning workouts, usually the same stuff he's making the kids do that day.

GymnasticsWarrior looks ok, better for WAG than MAG.

https://www.gymnasticbodies.com/forum/forum/21-workout-of-the-day-archive/

These are more oriented towards Men's Gymnastics Strength and Conditioning. Problem is without the book, you have to figure out what Coach Sommer calls certain exercises. Still, you can figure out a lot of the exercises you need to be doing by reading through these WOD's.

Gymnastics Workout of the Day