Parents Protein? Vitamins?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

3LittleGymmies

Proud Parent
I am just beginning to research this, so I would love to benefit from the knowledge of those of you who know more about this than me. :) Do athletes, even child athletics, need 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight, per day? Is it really more or less? This is what I have been reading, and I have been trying to get my daughter's intake up (she is very into eating healthily, so that helps!).. but it's hard! My daughter is almost 60 pounds, so that would be 60 grams.. which sounds like a lot. We can get there, or close, but we have to be super intentional about what she is eating. We try to do eggs, chicken, milk, deli meat, protein bars, granola w/ nuts, greek yogurt, etc. It gets tricky with limited time in the morning, her being at school for lunch, and rushing all night because of practice. She does get to bring a snack to gym (no peanut butter though, so that kind of limits the types of protein-filled snacks we can send that are easy and fast to eat) and she eats a protein-filled snack on the way there, but doesn't like to eat dinner before practice (so when she does eat, it's about 9:00). Is there ANY protein powder/shake that is "okay" for child athletes to have? I am just thinking that it would be a good way to get protein in her really quickly when we're rushing around. I am not sure if any of them taste good, and I am sure that some have ingredients that aren't that great.. but maybe there is something out there that has "good" ingredients and I just don't know what it is. :) I am not worried about building MORE muscle more quickly or anything (she is already as hard as a rock!), I just want to make sure that her body has what it needs to recover, keep doing what it does, etc.

Also, do you give your gymnast any vitamins (other than a multi-vitamin) due to the extra wear and tear they put on their body.. bones, muscles, etc?