WAG Rec Class Conditioning

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi there I'm hoping someone can help me out! I'm a fairly new coach and have been asked to create an "At Home Conditioning" sheet for my recreational class who do 1 hour a week. I'm an ex competitive gymnast so I'm unsure on what exercises and reps are appropriate for their abilities so wondering does anyone have advice? Thanks

A moderator could move it. But us coaches don't exclusively frequent the coach board.

What age range are we talking?
My littles train 2 hours a week but they're quite young (mostly 6-8). My answer would vary a lot if the group your talking about is made up, for instance, of pre teens / teens.

Generally speaking, my best guess are body weight exercises around the same amount of reps (not round though, they're rec after all, they shouldn't be spending all of their free time conditioning:rolleyes:) you'd have them do at practice.

Thanks for the reply. The age range is 9-11. Conditioning at the gym involves lots of circuit work but I do have some of the more common exercises on it. Is there any particularly beneficial ones they could do? Also is expecting them to be doing it daily too much?

Is there any particularly beneficial ones they could do? Also is expecting them to be doing it daily too much?
Yes, way too much. These kids are rec kids at one hour per week. Gymnastics may be far from a priority for them. It also may kill their fun. It is good for them to know that conditioning at home might help them get better at gymnastics, and if they are motivated to move up form rec then conditioning daily is a good idea. Make it optional though.

Things I can think that would be beneficial and probably able to be done well at home, arch rocks, hollow rocks, handstands holds against the wall, push-ups, v-ups, splits. Numbers depend on what you know they are able to do well. No point in them conditioning at home if they are only able to do it with poor form.