Strength Training for 8 Year Old

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

T

Tammy

Hello - I am new to the Chalk Bucket. My daughter started gymnastics a year ago and went from beginner, advanced, pre-team, to team all within one year. She is 8 years old. She trains 10 hours a week and LOVES it!

Even training 10 hours a week my daughter is never sore. I feel her club does the appropiate amount of strength for level 4 girls and most of the girls do get sore and tired. Strength training consists of 1/3 of every training session.

Do not get me wrong, I'm not stating that I want my daughter to overdo it at her age but I do wondering if she should at least feel some of her workout. It just does not seem to phase her at all. She comes home from her workouts and does more pushup's (she can do 30+ in one setting).

Here's where I am going with this. I'm just wondering if my child needs more of a challenge or if as a parent I should just sit back and see what happens.

Any advice is appriciated.

I'd say 'sit back and see what happens' would be the best advice. She is an 8 year old L4 - there's a long long road ahead and there is no need to be concerned now.
Remember that this is a marathon -
Good luck to your dd.

Hi and welcome!

As a coach, mom and physical therapist, I'd say sit back and enjoy the ride!! As long as she is happy and progressing, it sounds like things are going well:)