WAG Would you get your kid a flu vaccine before a meet?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

kimute

Proud Parent
I have had a hard time finding time for my DD to get her flu shot/mist between gym and being out for a week with the flu... I can do it tomorrow (Thursday), but she has a meet Saturday. Would you do this? I know adults sometimes feel flu-like after a flu vaccine, but kids seem more resilient...

I don't think it's that big of a deal. I mean we're talking one little meet...not the Olympics!

I usually have a sore arm for a day or so after mine. I'd do it on Thursday, but not Friday. I have no experience with Flumist. But wait....did you just say she was just out with the flu?

I would not.

I also would not use the mist under any circumstances. My DD's and I got the mist one year when my youngest was just barely 2 and old enough for it. We all got ragingly sick from it. I had had the shot several times with no problems, but the mist is only a weakened virus, not a dead one like the shot.

JMO/E.

I would get either one...and this year the recommendation is for kids ages 2-8 to get the mist, if possible

I have had a very sore arm for 4+ days in the past with the influenza vaccine. I would likely wait until after the meet.

I've never gotten a flu shot. (Or the flu *knocks on wood*)
Interesting it's being recommended to all US citizens. I guess you learn something new every day!

Now I don't have a kid yet, but I'd hold off on any vaccines until after a meet. Unless she has another one next week or something.

I've never gotten a flu shot. (Or the flu *knocks on wood*)
Interesting it's being recommended to all US citizens. I guess you learn something new every day!

Now I don't have a kid yet, but I'd hold off on any vaccines until after a meet. Unless she has another one next week or something.
Not the only country either, quite a few do.