Parents Does starting at age 6 vs 7 matter?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi! Newbie here! My dd is 5 but turns 6 in 2 months. She competes on a dance team currently but became obsessed with acro last year. She taught herself a front and back walkover and is working on front and back limbers now, all self taught (although she just got asked yesterday to join the level 3/4/5 acro class at the dance studio)
I took her to a charity skill clinic at a local gym this past weekend because I’ve had friends telling me she’s a gymnast not a dancer. So I let her do a bars and beam because she hasn’t had any exposure to those (except when she was 2 and we did mommy and me gymnastics).
Well apparently the coach who was doing the clinic coaches the girls team and said he was having her do level 2/3 skills (a double flip on bars seemed like the most advanced skill he had her try) and she did great on beam too (did her dance leg hold on the beam haha) but here is the issue- he literally offered her a spot on their competition team and said she was keeping up with another girl there who has been on the team for a year.
Can I keep her in competitive dance for one more year or does it matter for a possible competitive gymnast to start at age 6 rather than 7? Experiences and opinions welcome!

What does SHE want to do? In the end anything in gymnastics should be done for fun.

In my opinion, I would let her do 1 class at that gym to understand what a practice is like. Then ask a lot of questions. Time, cost, meets, etc. Find out what your daughter really wants - there maybe an option to do a bit of both for a year? Not sure the dance requirements. I can say my daughter did Level 2 and that was 8 hrs a week (2.5hrs 2.5 hrs, 3 hrs). She also did horseback riding, swimming, ballet, and travel soccer that year...