Level 7

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

T

Thegymgirls

This summer I came almost everyday when every practice was optional and I was training for level 7. I came to practice in the beginning of the year and they put me in the prep op group. I've been doing prep op for 4 years now and I'm sick of it and I really wanted to do level 7. They told me I wasn't good enough and that I should stay in prep op while this other girl who didn't come at all over the summer and who's worse then me gets to do level 7. I can do...
Vault: good fhs, half on half off
Bars: free hip to above horizontal, cast 3/4 handstand, almost layout fly away and I'm working giants
Beam: bhs on high beam, 2 bwrs
Floor: layout with a spot, almost front front

The other girl can do...

Vault: same
Bars: no free hip, cast to below horizontal, flyaway
Beam: cartwheel cartwheel, bhs with a spot on low beam
Floor: layout, front tuck

I think this is so unfair and I'm so sad about it. Do you think I could have done level 7?

It sounds like you are unhappy with your coach or gym(maybe both). Have you spoken with them? Our gym automaticly puts highschoolers in the prep-op program if they do not score high out of level 6 before they reach highschool. I think it is part of some selection process(a or b track). Maybe you should talk to them about your goals. If your intrests and their intrests aren't the same maybe you should look for a gym that is. In our area there are plenty of gyms and although, I think gymnasts should only compete at the level that is safe,you should go to where you will get the most out of all that hard work. I have seen clubs that have ideas of who they want on a team and who they do not.