Coaches Deduction question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gym law mom

Proud Parent
My gymie had her 1st optional meet yesterday and I'm still learning(as is she) all the new stuff about when deductions are taken. Here's what happened. She was on bars and low bar looked fine(maybe a couple tenths off for form). She did a toe circle and jumped to high bar. The grip on her right hand caught on the high bar up by the fingers and she came to a dead stop. Just one of those wacky things. Somehow she managed to regrip and kick into a kip from a dead hang and continued on---2 giants to stuck flyaway. So, how much was taken off for the sudden stop in the routine? Also she said her form in the kip wasn't that great, so we'll assume some tenths off there. Her score after 8.35 with a 10 SV.

In Britain its 0.5& for the dead stop, 0.3 for lack of amplitude and 0.3& for form on the upstart!

not sure if that will help!

it's pretty much the equilvalent to a fall 5 tenths and probably some execution deductions(that's how they get you) which could add up to 3 tenths.

According to FIG (International gymnastics federation) the following things on bars will take the same deduction as a fall - hitting feet on the floor and/or falling to a hang from low or high bar even if the feet to not touch the floor. That would be a 0.8 deduction under FIG but as you are still using the old scoring system out of 10 then it would be a 0.5.