Coaches chalk on beam... yes or no?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Ok, i'm a new team coach at a small gym... the owner totally opposes using chalk on the beams because he says it ruins them. He's had the same 4 beams for like over 20 years... and he's had high levels train on them before back in the 80's early 90's. BUT, the highest level at the gym now are level 7's and they're scared to do their skills without chalk on their hands and feet b/c of sweating... they feel so much more comfortable when they use chalk. When i was in gymnastics, the beams at the gyms i went to had chalk on them... i can't imagine not using chalk.
So i just wanted to get opinions from other coaches... I was thinking about talking to the owner and seeing if maybe we could have just one beam that they're allowed to use chalk on? I dont wanna like step on any toes or anything though since i am new. But is an injury from slipping off the beam worth it just to be able to keep the beams longer??

Opinions and comments would be great. Thanks!

Ok, i'm a new team coach at a small gym... the owner totally opposes using chalk on the beams because he says it ruins them. He's had the same 4 beams for like over 20 years... and he's had high levels train on them before back in the 80's early 90's. BUT, the highest level at the gym now are level 7's and they're scared to do their skills without chalk on their hands and feet b/c of sweating... they feel so much more comfortable when they use chalk. When i was in gymnastics, the beams at the gyms i went to had chalk on them... i can't imagine not using chalk.
So i just wanted to get opinions from other coaches... I was thinking about talking to the owner and seeing if maybe we could have just one beam that they're allowed to use chalk on? I dont wanna like step on any toes or anything though since i am new. But is an injury from slipping off the beam worth it just to be able to keep the beams longer??