Was Simone Biles Overscored at Beam Finals?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Did the judges give her a higher score than they should have compared to the others?

• Total voters
Don't think Biles was overscored, but I can see why some prefered Bai's routine and would have liked to see her win. Bai did have a higher execution score but Biles difficulty won it for her. It was the dismounts that made the difference. Biles did a more difficult dismount and stuck it, Bai landed her's with her chest down and took a step. If Bai would have landed her dismount like Biles, the gold would have been hers, and I think rightfully so. If I had to show my kids one beam routine from finals to show them what they should strive to look like, it would be Bai's. (Though for floor it would of course be Biles!)

Bai's routine was gorgeous (her jumps are just stunning), but the current scoring rewards difficulty and Simone was definitely ahead on that front. I'm no expert, but I actually thought the Chinese team seemed a little over scored on floor. Some of their passes were so low that I literally gasped when they landed.

Bai's routine was gorgeous (her jumps are just stunning), but the current scoring rewards difficulty and Simone was definitely ahead on that front. I'm no expert, but I actually thought the Chinese team seemed a little over scored on floor. Some of their passes were so low that I literally gasped when they landed.
The Chinese girls E scores where all in the 7's with even a few 6's throughout qualifying and finals, so they were definately penalized. I think the only Chinese gymnast who scored an 8(a very low 8) was Tan. I think all the Chinese girls would have benefited from scaling back the tumbling difficulty on floor a little and focusing on execution.