Parents Parents shut out - switch gyms?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A's Mom

Proud Parent
My daughter is a JO level 3 at a top gym in our area. She loves her gym and coaches, so we follow that lead. There's a disturbing pattern of lip service to parents, though, and I don't know how big of a red flag that should be. Over the summer, several parents were concerned about a particularly aggressive coach. We requested a meeting with the gym owner to talk about that (and about the basics of joining their competitive team) and we've been repeatedly put off.

The reason we requested it to begin with is because this gym has no regular parent meetings AT ALL. We get updates about practice times and meet info, but there is no culture of actually speaking with parents, in a general annual meeting or to review our kids' progress. I'm new to the team, but this seems extreme to me. Do you have regular parent meetings (even once or twice a year)? Do you get progress updates? What's the norm?

My daughter is a JO level 3 at a top gym in our area. She loves her gym and coaches, so we follow that lead. There's a disturbing pattern of lip service to parents, though, and I don't know how big of a red flag that should be. Over the summer, several parents were concerned about a particularly aggressive coach. We requested a meeting with the gym owner to talk about that (and about the basics of joining their competitive team) and we've been repeatedly put off.

The reason we requested it to begin with is because this gym has no regular parent meetings AT ALL. We get updates about practice times and meet info, but there is no culture of actually speaking with parents, in a general annual meeting or to review our kids' progress. I'm new to the team, but this seems extreme to me. Do you have regular parent meetings (even once or twice a year)? Do you get progress updates? What's the norm?