Parents Asked to Join Level 1 at age 4

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Momtotheredhead

Proud Parent
My youngest daughter was just asked to join the level 1 competition team at age 4, she has the skills needed and loves the sport but she is young and i worry that by saying yes we will push her away from the sport if she get discouraged. Anyone have success at a younger age? I am new to this so 4 might be totally normal to start the competing, i have no clue. i would love any feedback, good or bad. Right now she in in the gym 4.5 hours a week already and she would go more if I let her so I am not worries about the time commitment for her, its more the ability to perform the routine without reminders on what is next. This was not a try out situation but an invite, not sure if that matters.

I would not choose to compete at 4 years old. In many countries (in Europe at least) you can't even start competing before you turn 7 years old. She has plenty of time to train and memorize routines when she's older. If your gym has a preteam that doesn't compete, I would choose that. Is that an option for you?

I would not choose to compete at 4 years old. In many countries (in Europe at least) you can't even start competing before you turn 7 years old. She has plenty of time to train and memorize routines when she's older. If your gym has a preteam that doesn't compete, I would choose that. Is that an option for you?

Thanks for the input, i am kind of thinking that too. We have a team Developmental program at our gym, no competitions just training, that is what she has been in and now they want to push her to the next step but i think we may wait at least another year...