Parents New to CB-Love To read your posts and comments

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello All,
I have been reading your posts for months now. I have a 11yr. old level 7 gymnast. First I would like to ask a silly question. Everyone seems to know what DD stands for but me. Any info. would be great. I have no experience in gymnastics. My daughter went into a rec. class when she was 7 1/2 and has just bloomed in the gym. She really loves gymnastics and I would love to know more about the sport. Every time she goes to a meet, I think she is great but have no clue what they are judging on. You moms and dads seem very informed. How did you learn? I am going to post a video and would welcome any comments. Maybe ya'll can help me become more informed. Bailey seems very serious about the sport so I guess its time for me to bone up on the sport.

YouTube - Lake Murray Invitational 2009- Bailey, 11yr, Level 7

Welcome to the CB, nice to have you here. DD stands for Dear/Darling Daughter, you might also see DS, DH etc, I have never seen DM though!

Bailey did a great job at her meet.

I think we learn so much from each other, watching videos and seeing the scores. Judges of course are looking for clean tight routines. No bent arms or legs, nice extension etc. YOu are passed the compulsory stage which means that judging is harder, but also that your DD is being judged more on her skills and less on the whole routine.

Hello and welcome to CB!

LOL! So funny! You are not the first person to ask what dd stands for...
It stands for Darling Daughter or Dear Daughter. DH, darling husband DS, darling son etc. When using internet talk many people abbreviate using dd instead of typing out daughter.

I too am pretty new to the whole world of gymnastic and am learning as I go along. I've become a master of Level 2 and 3 and am learning more and more about level 4 since my dd just started training for L4.