Parents Summer Strength and Flexibility class

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Strength and Flexibility Summer class, interesting or no?

• Yes, I'm tired of hearing about that skill my DD/DS is frustrated at not having!

Votes: 12 100.0%
  • No, they'll get whatever strength or flexibility they need from time spent in class eventually

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • My kid already has the strength of the Hulk and the stretch of Elasti-Girl so there!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
This is my first time ever attempting to post a poll, so forgive me if I screw it up!

I have a lot of coordinated kids in rec who want a specific skill, but are held back by flexibility or strength issues. Common examples are back walkovers, pullovers, and backbends.

The structure of a 1 hour class at my gym allows for a warm-up and then 12-15 minutes on 3 events. To keep kids on the events and practicing their skills, we rarely do focused conditioning. They want to be on the equipment, parents want to see that, etc. For the ones who really want a skill that's eluding them due to strength or flexibility, they only have the option of taking privates or being disciplined at home about doing simple conditioning.

I figure with summer around the corner, it would be nifty to offer a strength and flexibility class. Something around 6-ish weeks maybe. It would give those kids a chance to focus on those things without taking time away from their regular gymnastics class. We could do it in a fun structured way that doesn't put the coffee table (or the child!) at risk at home.