Teaching New Leaps

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

BeamPrincess

Coach
Judge
I'm a coach and have a level 8 gymnast who needs to upgrade her SV on Floor.

How do I correctly teach the below leaps please:
1 - Split leap with full turn
2 - Switch leap with 1/2 turn (in flight)

Thank you :)

I, too, have never taught them, but I would assume you build on foundations...

If I recall a split-leap full is a popa (or that's a straddle full?).. in either case, when you see them done correctly, they initiate as a jump full, and the legs extend mid flight.

So, I would suggest - start by doing jump 1/2. Then jump 1/2 with a split (the split happening after the 1/2 turn is completed, which means the turn will have to happen on the way up, quickly). When that's comfortable, move on to jump full. Then, jump full with a split. While working this skill on a tumble track or trampoline may help, it may also significantly increase the chance of injury to the knee, so you may want to use sparingly... other coaches may disagree. Do what you think is best for your gymnast.

As for the switch 1/2...

I would assume takes a lot of active flexibility... it seems to be more of a switch leap to middle split, which is exactly how I would start. When she can land that easily, then add the next 1/4 turn. For this, I would not emphasize a forward motion, but an upward motion. That way, a sideways landing will not result in tension on the knees.

Hopefully, another more experience coach can chime in and give you a few more pointers.

Ryan

1 - Split leap with full turn
2 - Switch leap with 1/2 turn (in flight)