What ae the chances of skiping levels ?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

G

gymgirly1

Ok so I am an amazing tumbler but i am not very good at bars like i just need to lean the skill i am strong but just dont know how ?So the question is They put me in level 4 to polish up my form but my tumbling goes fom skilles fom level 4 to 9 or 10 I want to ask if i could swich to level 7 next year ill have to work hard eally hard!but it would be worth it ?wate do you think ?:confused:

Wow...you can do a double back/pike in level 4? That is pretty good. But i don't believe you can skip level 5 or 6 anymore, but i am not sure. And you should ask your coach's how good THEY think you are. Just being able to DO the skill isn't enough.....it has to be able to look good, so there is probably some reason as to why your coaches put you in level 4.

I believe you can petition level 7 IF you are over the age of 14, and in high school. You would have to send USAG a video of your self, along with coaches recomendation. Or, you can score out of levels 5 and 6, if your gym would allow you to, but you would have to go to those meets and obtain at least the minimum score set by USAG

Sorry, didn't see you had that as a question for coaches, as I am not one, just recall what I read.....

Have you ever thought about switching to T & T (Tramp and Tumbling)?? That is mostly the power tumbling (which you seem to have a lot of) without all the other events and dance elements needed like artistic gymnastics.

I was also going to suggest power tumbling. No dance skills required and it's great for those that really enjoy the tumbling skills only.

I dnt think you can skip level 5 and 6 anymore. You might enjoy t&t.

If your heart is set on being an USAG competitive gymnast, I encourage you to do so. But, there are a few things to keep in mind so that you know what you're getting into.