Parents 3 Year Old Loves Gymnastics - When does "play" end and "training" begin?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi everyone, original poster here. Thanks for all the responses.

I know my post was long winded, and it boils down to this... Does it really matter what kind of form a 3 year old has? My wife admonished me for asking my daughter to try a harmless little twirl on a balance beam that was 6 inches high, on the grounds that she was a gymnast when she was a child. I thought it was an unnecessarily strict way to think. Because I know nothing about gymnastics, I went to this forum to do a little investigating of my own. My wife questions me on medical issues, and I am a medical doctor. I am OK with that. Healthy skepticism has a place, so we don't just accept everything that is told to us because it was said by an authority on the subject. Knowledge is an evolving thing... Something that was true 20 years ago may not be true now. Questioning things leads to new discoveries. That applies to medicine and gymnastics and LIFE.

So those of you who said, "Your wife is right" without explaining why, or alluded to my questioning of her opinion as a problem with my marriage, you missed the point of the discussion.

My 3 year old daughter loves gymnastics. Whether she actually gets into it as a sport is unknown. She may decide in 1 month that she doesn't care for it at all. As people have said, for a 3 year old, it just needs to be fun. Formal training can come if she actually retains her interest and wants to pursue the sport. How can a 3 year old have ruined form from just playing around? As a doctor, I see injuries all the time, so I don't allow my daughter to do things that are overtly dangerous. When the danger level increases (e.g., when the balance beam is high in the air), I absolutely understand the importance of proper form.
You asked us a question and you're not happy with he answer.