a lot of little questions -- transitioning to a developmental team

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the sport and started my twins in gymnastics around the age of 3. Its been a great program and a ton of fun. Every day my girls ask, if it is a gym day and I have seen tremendous development in the last year.

They will turn 4 in a few weeks, and the coach invited them to join their development team (hotshots). For some reason, I am having a tough time wrapping my head around this as I feel like we are moving to a different path now.

I have a couple of questions that I am hoping you can help me out with -- thanks in advance for all the insight:

1. How important is the gym selection at this point?
Our gym is great and has a good reputation, but it is a long drive (30 minutes normal, 45-60 minutes in rush hour). Going twice a week in rush hour (that's when the hotshots practice is) could be brutal and we are dealing with twin 4 year olds in a car (yikes!).

2. How did you handle the transition?
In hotshots, they move the kids to the "real gym" versus the preschool gym which is so fun with murals and circuit courses. For those who have done this, did you keep preschool gym for awhile or did this cause too much confusion?

My girls are not happy about graduating. When I told them that they were going to graduate because they having been doing so well, they both insisted that they wanted to stay in preschool because "its more fun mommy". However, they have maxed out on skills so its time to move up. Other than talking it up, are there other ways I can ease the transition to the big girl class? My current plan is to give them a few more weeks in preschool to build up their confidence and then move them to the developmental team in early May.

3. Is there anything else I should be considering?

Thanks in advance for any advice you may have!