WAG Advice Needed: Gymnasts aren't memorizing their floor routines.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I've been a competitive gymnastics coach for seven years now, and this is my second season as the head coach for our Xcel program. I've always choreographed the routines myself and taught them the same way. This season the problem I'm running into is that the Silvers just aren't memorizing their floor routines! The Platinums, Golds, and Bronzes are doing fine. These routines aren't particularly difficult, and we've been working on them a minimum of two hours per week since August. We have a meet in a week and a half and five of the girls still forget their routines half way through! I'm running out of ideas. I've drilled the choreo many times, given them written choreography and videos to practice at home, and done numerous dance-throughs with them. It's clear to me they aren't using their time appropriately nor practicing at home, but how can I enforce this? I'm completely out of ideas! We have three practices until our first meet of the season and I'm planning to focus HEAVILY on floor during those practices (that's only 6 hours of work for them).

TLDR; My gymnasts can't remember their floor routines despite working on them since August, and I'd love suggestions to help them memorize them!

Do they all have different routines? My Silvers all have the same basic floor routine with different dance and acro passes. This way I can work the routine as a group.

Do they all have different routines? My Silvers all have the same basic floor routine with different dance and acro passes. This way I can work the routine as a group.