Parents Advice on Funding?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Nikknaq

Proud Parent
Gymnast
Hello, I just came across this website and joined today. This is my first time posting on a forum like this. I came here for help/advice on funding/fundraising?
I have two level 4 competitive gymnasts and we are stationed in California. They have been competing since we moved here three years ago. Last year was their first time going to the North So Cal State Chanpionships and my 10 year old placed first on beam and my 8 year old placed first on vault and bars! They are crazy good and everyone loves to see them tumble! They’ve accomplished so much.

The one and only issue that i have (and maybe some can relate) is that it is so expensive! Our booster club is practically non existent and being that we are on a military installation, there are tons of rules and limits to the type and frequency of fundraising we can do. For instance We can’t do anything that sells food.

Gymnastics is my daughters whole entire life...they love it and it makes them so happy. They are at that gym for 12 hours a week!
But the fees associated with competing kill us every time! I don’t know how we got by last year (i know it was hard!)

Uniforms, Leo’s, coaches fees, usag, gas (traveling two plus hours out), entry fees for gymnast, entry fees for mom and dad, hotel stays if necessary... :(
What do others in our situation try to do to raise money? Are there scholarships that i don’t know about?

If anyone has any insight it would really mean the world to me. Thank You!