Parents At what age should I leave my gymnast at gym?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JadaBreeze

Proud Parent
Hi all! Newbie here and I've already learned SO much. When did you start leaving your gymnast at gym? My 5-year old is on preteam and has 2-hour classes twice a week. Because my husband mostly travels for work, I work full time and we have no family in town, I'm the chauffeur. I don't know many of the parents (she just joined preteam last week) so I don't feel comfortable setting up a carpool situation yet. Is she too young to leave in the hands of her coach? She has been at that gym since she was 3, knows several of the coaches by name and I think would be fine. But what's the "norm"? Wanted to know what other gym parents do. Sitting at 2-hour practices with a 2-year old is just...pretty awful and I'm quickly looking for solutions.

If you feel safe with the environment and coaches, then I think it’s just fine to leave. I stayed some of the time when my gymnast was smaller, but I’ve mostly just dropped her off since she started team (at 5 yrs old). She also has little siblings so hanging out at the gym is not really an option. Most parents at our gym don’t stay the whole time.

When my DD started on pre-Team she was 5, almost 6 and we were new to the gym. Her class was 1.5 hours a few times a week and I also had a toddler. We stayed at first (with lots of goldfish to eat and my bag of toys that only got to be played with during the times I needed him to be fairly confined and quiet). Once I got more comfortable (a month of so), I would go to the shopping area and/or a close park just so my son could run around. When you feel comfortable, just make sure they have your cell number and stay close. After awhile, you’ll be like the majority of us and hardly step foot in the gym!