Coaches Back handsprings - heavy trampoline training or not?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Sasha

Proud Parent
Hi coaches,

I have a new Excel Bronze dd (been in gymnastics 4.5 months), and I'm new to the sport as a parent who never did gymnastics (sadly - would have loved to!).

Understandably, all the girls are excited to learn the bhs as one of the next skills. I've noticed at our gym that the rec class coach has their girls on the trampoline a LOT doing BHS repeats, among other things on the trampoline/track. In the Excel Pre-team/team, however I note very little usage of the trampoline (or tumble track) for much.

I do note that the Rec girls seem to be learning the BHS on the trampoline, and are now starting to do it on the floor already. Some Excel girls watch and are a bit jealous ;-) I did hear a comment from one Excel coach once that she didn't like to teach on trampoline, but I didn't follow up at the time as to why.

This just makes me curious - are there different philosophies about using the trampoline for BHS or similar skill acquisition? Is there anything negative about it? Any reason why Rec would use it more than Excel in teaching?

thanks for satisfying my curiosity as I find this sport, which is new to me, very intriguing.

-S

Eventually you have to bring it to floor. It can be too easy. So you may have kids who can do it on a tramp but don't have it on Tumbl trak or a wedge.

If you have to bring all the kids to the tramp, you just can't be very efficient as they are all sitting around or doing miscellaneous things while waiting on turn.

Sometimes when you are using Tumbl-trak, you can set up a wedge or mats as return stations. Thus more efficient.

We primarily teach back handsprings on the floor and down wedge mats.

We use trampolines and tumble tracks a ton...just not too much for teaching beginning tumbling.