back handsprings on beam

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

G

gymnaast0110

hey i'm amanda :)
so i had been working on back handsprings on beam for a few months now, but i broke my hand at the end of may, working on drills for bhs on beam. my hand is FINALLY getting better so i've been working on them alot more now. and when i do them, i guess it's kinda weird how i have things, say my teammates who do them too, and certain coaches.
first off. i start with one foot in front of the other. like legit. theres about 2 inches between the beginning of my foot. and the end of the one in front. will that be a problem when i have to start connecting things to it? or is it really not a problem.
secondly, my hands. i have my front hand, left hand, the one i broke earlier; turned completely in. like its going horizontal across the beam, and alot of the times my wrist hangs off the beam, and it puts alot of stress on my wrist, which is very weak cause of when i broke it. and my right hand, is facing forward and grabbing the beam. so my hands pretty much make a "T"
is that a big probblem? one coach says it's fine, and the other says i should change it to the "normal" hand position for them.
and is a biig arm swing before doing it like bad? i hit my coaches a few times cause of it. but i get like no momentum when doing a little arm swing.

sorry for it being so long. haha.

i'm a level 8 and i start with my feet one in front of the other, i can't have my feet touching, bc then i feel like they'll get too sweaty too fast.. i haven't had a problem with my feet for flipflopx2, bc when i come down out of my first one into my second one i don't focus on my feet really. and as for your hands, it might help (for your wrist) to work on getting it straight, or only have it on a slight angle.. just so you dont hurt your wrist more..