Back walkover on beam

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Libby's gym mom

Proud Parent
Hi, newbie here . My daughter has just turned 7 and has already made squad status , which I'm proud of .
My gripe is , Libby can do backwalkovers on a high beam and has done so for a month or so but all of a sudden she's very frightened again ? Any tips ? It's so frustrating !!

I think this is something they all go through - they can learn a new skill and be doing it fine then one day it doesn't work or they get scared - they start over thinking it - my advice is ride it out - play it down - she will get over it and be moving onto the next skill before you know it - its happened to my DD a few times and she always moves on :)

I think beam in one of those things where a lot of girls have some fear issues, my dd is 7 but is not at the stage where she does backwards walkovers on the beam yet, the older girls who have been in dd's group longer have started to learn them. My dd has has some fear issues doing forwards rolls on the high beam after a fall once, she is now becoming a little more confident on the beam and will do them (they have to do 5 without falling off before moving onto cartwheels on the floor beam), Dd said that the girls don't really like the beam all that much, dd said it in her third favourite thing, it used to be her fourth favourite piece of equipment.

I don't think there is much you can do, as I have found out, it is just something they usually get over in time, I often explain to dd that gymnastics is small bit talent and a whole lot of hard work and that sometimes you have to let your brain win over your body and tell your body what to do even though it might be hard work.

My eldest DD had the same issues, she liked to talk about it she was an over thinker, then one day she just did them, they have to work through it themselves