WAG Beam BWO harder than BHS?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

merritt

Proud Parent
Can anyone explain to me why a BWO on beam is harder than a BHS on beam? My D says that this is just a fact and she doesn’t understand why it doesn’t make sense to me.

To me, a BHS seems harder because they’re completely leaving the beam. Is the relative difficulty something that varies from gymnast to gymnast, or is it something I just don’t get because I was never a gymnast?

I think it’s pretty individual. My DD can do BWO-BWO successfully but can barely do a decent standing bhs on floor- beam would be an impossibility.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I've never heard anyone say that a BWO on beam is harder than a BHS. I've always heard and thought it was the opposite. Now I have heard people say that a cartwheel is harder than the BWO. I imagine it does vary be person though. Most of the girls on dd's team got the BWO before the BHS and never really struggled with it. The BHS on the other hand did cause some of them trouble..mostly fear related from what I can tell.

I'm not an expert by any means, but I've never heard anyone say that a BWO on beam is harder than a BHS. I've always heard and thought it was the opposite. Now I have heard people say that a cartwheel is harder than the BWO. I imagine it does vary be person though. Most of the girls on dd's team got the BWO before the BHS and never really struggled with it. The BHS on the other hand did cause some of them trouble..mostly fear related from what I can tell.

I appreciate the input! This is coming from my D (who was quite adamant and certain), so it may just be that she’s quirky this way. Wouldn’t be the first time :D

I appreciate the input! This is coming from my D (who was quite adamant and certain), so it may just be that she’s quirky this way. Wouldn’t be the first time :D