Coaches Beginners re-gripping one hand at a time

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

azara

Coach
Gymnast
Hi all, very new coach here. I'm an assistant coach for beginners at the moment, and I'm still learning how to explain things and give corrections in a way that makes sense to the kids (who are 5-7 yo).

One thing I've noticed on the bars rotation is that several of the gymnasts, when doing tucked glide swings, are re-gripping with one hand at a time. They don't yet understand the motion to push away from the bar, so of course if they let go with both hands, they fall off. I've tried to explain the movement as a shrug, which is how I personally think of it, but it's not quite accurate and I'm hoping for a better explanation.

How would you explain it, and do you have any simple drills we could try out? Or should I just let the kids keep trying, and wait for them to get it with time? Of course, hollow shape and a stronger swing should help with re-grips, but those are harder to achieve if the one-handed re-grips are themselves creating swings at an angle and loss of momentum.

Many thanks, azara

Spotting helps them understand the concept. Support them with on hand on their front and one hand on the back and lift them off for each swing so they understand the action. At this age they are usually light enough.

You can have them practice the motion without a swing too. Have them stand at a bar that is low enough and just practice the regrip action.

Make sure they get to see it done as well. Each time yiu explain the activities either demonstrate it or have a kid who can do it demonstrate it. Most kids learn better if they see it, while the demonstration is going on have them watch the hands, point to the spot you want the kids to focus on.

Thank you, @Aussie_coach. Some very helpful suggestions there!