Booster Club Management

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymmama43

Proud Parent
I am very new to this, and I do admit upfront that I'm not sure how the Booster Club stuff is supposed to work.

Right before my ds started (over a year ago) there was a huge upset at our gym where numerous parents and gymnasts left the club. Apparently the officers were upset about something (I've heard tons of conflicting stories) and all left abruptly. When they left suddenly, other parents were forced to take over.

Now, one whole year later, I believe our club is in total disarray. I say that because...
  1. Our officers do not conduct regular meetings. We meet haphazardly once every couple months or so. Often with very little notice and definitely not on the same day or time.
  2. Many of us newbies have asked for copies of the by-laws numerous times and have never received them. They always say they will get them to us but don't. The coach says he will "fix" them and get them to us. Why on Earth the coach has anything to do with them I don't know.
  3. They follow no rules of any kind for conducting the meetings. No one makes motions, no one seconds motions, and we NEVER vote on anything. The president tells us what the coach believes we should do, and we do it.
  4. The coach almost RUNS the meetings (even when he isn't at them). He tells us what fundraisers to do, how to spend the money, and how assessments will be laid out when we come up short at the end of the year. (This seems wrong to me. Why is a COACH telling the booster club how to spend their money and settle their shortfalls?)
  5. Our treasurer has never once provided us with a printed financial statement. They just tell us things like "we have about $___ right now".
  6. The treasurer has lost numerous checks.