WAG Chow files a lawsuit

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Non-competes are tricky devils and hard to enforce. Good on Chow for attempting it.
It's scope, time, and location limited, so it's probably relatively easy to enforce. If it were not limited in all of those three ways, he might have trouble, but it seems like a relatively reasonable non-compete.

Are non-compete clauses common for gymnastics coaches?
I worked at a tiny club for a while that required I sign a non-compete clause- no coaching within a 50 mile radius for a year after leaving the gym. It was primarily a T&T club and though I was a WAG coach and if I would have switched gyms would not have provided much in the way of direct competition, I still had to abide by it. I don't think they would have taken legal action were someone to choose to act otherwise- in fact, some coaches did and started their own club. There was some tension, but nothing legal. They had a different competitive focus (artistic) and sort of sprouted out of another club in town that disbanded their team at around the same time, so wasn't really a source of additional competition in terms of rec. clientele either.

In the US, yes. But lawsuits are rarely filed even when these are violated, it seems. Non-compete clauses can be difficult to enforce legally but it depends. I'm kind of surprised to see this make the news anyway. I would be more surprised to see something come out of it. It's a relatively remote area geographically and courts won't stop someone from making a living or force them to move states generally. I'm not sure how close Triad is to Chows. But my guess is more than one coach has been back and forth between there in their history. My guess is something more went on with this one, who knows.

Triad is fairly close--close enough that gymnasts can go to either gym. I'm guessing it would get no publicity, if it weren't Chow filing the suit.