Parents Coach/gymnast boundaries: the flip side

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

mommyof1

Proud Parent
Parents and coaches, do you ever think about teaching kids boundaries in the way they interact with coaches, not so much for the child's protection but for the coaches' comfort and protection? I remember once seeing my child run up to and hug a coach without warning at the end of a summer camp session. The young man looked vaguely uncomfortable with the sudden hug, and it brought to mind my own discomfort with being hugged by students when I worked as a tutor after college. The tutoring center's policy prohibited tutors from hugging students for safety reasons, so it was always awkward when they wanted to hug me and I had to try to redirect them to a high-five. That day I explained to my daughter that you can't just hug anyone you want without making sure it's all right with them. Some adults, such as teachers, may not be allowed to hug children, and others may just want some respect for their personal space. It's usually fine to hug someone who, when you hold your arms out as if to hug them, reciprocates by outstretching her arms and smiling or otherwise indicating that she wants to share a hug, but it's not all right just to run up and grab someone or to insist upon hugging someone who indicates reluctance.

We teach our kids that no one can touch them without their consent, but sometimes I am not sure we do as good a job of teaching them that others (especially adults) also have the right not to be touched without consent. This applies in all contexts, of course, but I think kids are generally more likely to want to hug (or climb all over, etc.) their coaches than most of the other non-family adults in their lives. Thoughts?