Parents Coach Seems to Not Really "Coach" A Certain Group

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Flipping Awesome

Proud Parent
Hi! I'm still fairly new to CB and gymnastics in general. My 5yo DD has just finished her first season competing Xcel Bronze. She had what I consider a successful season for a 5yo. Her AA score improved each meet, and she really shined on bars.

I'm starting to see a trend with her coaching that bothers me a bit. Her level is split into two training groups according to skills. My DD is in the lower skill group, and I would expect that as she is one of the youngest on the team and seems a bit slower getting her skills. No problem there.

What I do see is that the head coach seems to not really put a lot of effort into "coaching" this lower skill level group. She does very little spotting or hands-on instruction and shaping but is impatient with the girls when they can't get it. In fact, if one is struggling, she sometimes just sits them to the side instead of working with them to get past the problem.

I also notice that when the two groups come back together for beam work, she puts the higher skill level group front and center and is hands on with them, while the lower skill level group is off to the far side or even on a low beam BEHIND her.

So, my question, I suppose, is how do you all feel about what I see as a lack of investment on the coach's part in this group. They seem to have potential, buy they are young and perhaps a bit slower getting skills. Should I read this as she really is not interested in this group succeeding? Or, does she just feel there is not a lot she can do to accelerate them until they get past certain developmental stages? I don't want to be all CGM, but I want to make sure DD is getting the right kind of coaching for her to reach her potential and to keep loving the sport. There is very little positive feedback, and I imagine that is tough for a 5yo.