Coaches Dangerous Coach

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

LAnderson

Coach
Proud Parent
We are a parent run non profit gym (unfortunately) and we recently lost a really great level 5 coach who was then replaced with a 16 year old who has never coached team. I am a level 3 coach and also a parent of a level 5 gymnast. This is girl is awful! We were told before she started that she wasn't going to be spotting the girls because she broke her back when she was a gymnast and the spotting coach would be stepping in. Never happened, she spotted them anyway and after she dropped my daughter twice spotting front walkovers on high beam, the optional coaches stepped in and had my daughter start working out with them for safety reasons. We are losing level 5's left and right, this girl is emotionally and verbally abusive to the gymnasts. We all watched in horror last night as one of the level 5's stood on the high beam bawling for 10 minutes because she was scared to do her back hand spring (she is in no way ready to do this on high beam) and the coach verbally cut her down and wouldn't let her off the beam. She has cussed at the girls, demeaned them, dropped them over and over again, and our board will not do anything about it. All of the coaches are feeling like we're being held hostage by a teenage coach! Every time we have expressed concerns about this coach, we've been called liars and nothing is ever done about it. What would you do (besides quit)?

It is naiv to think anyone who has never coached before can just go ahead a coach a team. Coaching is VERY different from doing gymnastics. Everyone needs at least half a year of being an assistant to another coach in order to get to know the responsibilities of a coach and get a certain reportoi of exercises, drills, spotting tecniques, problem solving strategies .....