Parents DD's Questions/Concerns

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

L

lilgymmie7

I'm sure a similar post as this one is floating around in this site. However, I thought to ask because DD just made this statement today, but I have heard it from her quite a few times within the last 6 mos. I have to add that this little girl likes to do too much in just about everything. She doesn't want to just read stories from her first grade readers, she wants books like her 7th grade brother- chapter books. Today, she was attempting to learn her times tables using newly found multiplication cards that her brother threw away. As I am typing, she is figuring out "3 +3+3+3+3+3+3..." Her mind is continuously working. As a teacher, I am so happy. But as a Mom, I'm constantly wondering if I am doing enough for her.
Well the statement that prompted me to post was, "When are they (coaches) going to let me do harder skills? I don't like the easy stuff." DD is at a very good gym. Her coaches really do have a handle on what she can do, and I think they are doing all that is needed to get her to reach her potential. I don't think they would have asked us to move her to train level 5 as a 5 yo if they didn't think she had talent or had some sort of plan for her. I never ever supercede anything they do gymnastically with DD. I trust their opinions and decisions with DD completely. I know that I will inevitably mention DD's words to them, but I always wait until I get a more holistic view of the situation. At least, I will try. As a teacher, I don't like it when parents try to 'tell' me what to do. I would never want the coaches to get that view/idea from me. As DD's coaches, I do feel they need to hear what she is thinking and vise versa DD needs to learn that these are the types of things her coaches need to hear/know about her in order to coach her effectively. But DD is only 6 soon 7 in January, and hence these are lessons she is just beginning to learn.