'Don't Try That at Home', or how far is too far?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JediGymnast

Gymnast
Hello! As you may know from the Introductions page, I'm a self-taught gymnast. At the moment I don't have access to classes or a gym (as much as I would like to) and so have been learning via a combination of online tutorials and a video camera to check form and correct mistakes. My question is, what is safe and what isn't? I know everything is safer with a coach and the correct equipment, but how much can I safely try at home without risking a trip to the emergency room? (don't worry, I'm not dumb enough to try a back handspring or any flips)

If there's a possibility of you landing on your head or neck. Even a slight chance of concussion or breaking bones do not try it.

gymnastics=10% talent 90% hard work

Back handsprings and Back tucks are not safe. Front tumbling not so much.

Flyaways are not safe.

Beam is always a danger.

Side Aerials have a bit of danger, more if you chicken out and put your fingers on the ground. Excellent way to sprain them.

Bars can be dangerous because you can peel off in some circling skills, even ordinary swings, squats ons.

OK. That's basically what I figured; no flips (definitely nothing backwards), no beam (or maybe just walking across a low one), and no bars. Thank you very much! :)

Try Pilates and/or Yoga in addition to your self coaching, both will work your core, balance, overall strength and muscle control. You can always work splits and head or handstands against a wall both are gymnastics without being dangerous.

Work lots of handstands, strength and flexibility and it will make the harder skills easier if you get the chance to learn then in the future.

Walking on and doing leaps and turns on a low beam shouldn't really be an issue, at least in my mind.....