WAG Dreaming of optional beam routine

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

LindyHopper

Proud Parent
Short Stack is dreaming of next year, which will hopefully be her first season as an optional gymnast (no clue if she'll compete 6 or go straight to 7). She is thinking a lot about her beam routine and wants to mount with a press handstand. From what I understand, this is a B skill. If she did Level 6, her one and only B skill would be her mount, and out of the way almost immediately. She and HC were talking about it last night.
I have very little knowledge of, and no experience with optional gymnastics. How uncommon would it be for a Level 6 to mount beam with a press handstand?

Thanks.

Most level 6s do a "get on the beam quickly" mount, but you see some
mounting with a press handstand. I'd guess about 10% of the level 6s I've judged do a press mount (mostly from specific gyms). She's also allowed to have more than one B. A split jump is a B, so it's quite likely she'd have 2 Bs in her routine.

We've seen a couple of press mounts this year in L6. They are very pretty when executed well. With that being said, I would only suggest competing it, if it is VERY very solid and well executed. Perfectly straight legs, pointed toes, and pretty much little to no risk of falling. I saw a girl fall on a press mount and it was a shame because the rest of the routine was lovely and doing a fancy mount is not worth taking a fall.

We've seen mostly switch mounts, but have saw a few split mounts, now those are also very pretty and seem a little less risky.

The "safest" B skill for beam would be the split jump of course. But a press mount is very impressive if done well!