First time poster and we’re moving interstate

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

AussieGymMum

Proud Parent
Hi all...this is my first time posting here, I’ve read the forum for a little a bit but never commented or posted until now.

My DD is 8yo and currently training level 3 and competed well all season scoring 36’s and has been up training for level 4 and most level 5 skills since the end of last year. She trains 8 hours a week at the moment over 3 days.

We are about to move to a new town which means a new gym. We took her for a visit and she was tested and placed into level 5 in there program training 14.5hrs a week over 4 days and gets weekends off. My DD is super excited about being placed in level 5.

I’m excited and pleased for my daughter but I’m also slightly worried about how she will adjust to the extra training time and big jump in levels. Any tips to help make this process as easy as possible for her please? She will get a snack break during training so tips on what to pack her to help get her through her sessions greatly appreciated also!

Welcome!
How long will the practices each be? And how long are current practices?
The difference in hours shouldn't be too hard to adjust to.
8 hours / 3 days would be roughly 10-2/3 hours if the average was done 4 days a week.
The new gym with 14.5 hours is less than an hour extra (on the average) ... which is why HOW they break up the practices is important.

You said that she has been working on L4 and most L5 skills since the end of last year. I think she would do fine at L5 since she has been training the skills for a while.

As for what to pack, it will depend on the length of the break, but I would do something healthy like homemade trail mix with granola, raisins, and a few other personal favorites ... or seedless grapes ... or, if they have a refrigerator available, a yogurt tube or something similar. I am sure others will have much better ideas for snacks.