WAG Frustrated University of the People

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I don't normally post, so if this is an inappropriate place to post this please let me know. I just saw an add for Simone Biles, promoting the University of the People. Evidently she and her mom are attending this university. I know Simone is surrounded by smart, intelligent people, but advertising this school was not one of those smart decisions.

A little background, while I am a coach, my full time job is to evaluate college transcripts. I've been doing this for over 15 years. I researched the accreditation to this "school", and it is not regionally accredited. What does that mean, it means that if she wanted to try and transfer any of her credit, most normal schools won't touch it. She would have wasted her time.

I was tempted to email her mom at their gym letting her know this information. I don't feel that advertising this school to young children will benefit anyone but the so called school. I can't tell you how many times I've turned away transfer credit and have the students all upset. They had no idea what the accreditation was, and what it can and can't be used for in the future. This school says its tuition free, and if thats true great, but they are still wasting time.

It's tuition free but even Simone admitted its not totally free, there are fees and there is a scholarship in her name. I agree it's not my favorite endorsement.

Yeah, I just don’t get it. For the cost of the fees you’re better off at a low cost community college then state school. If you want a free education and aren’t worried about accreditation, there is EdX and the likes out there distributing knowledge free of charge, with instruction from top colleges and universities. It’s weird to have her endorsing what seems to be a bit scam-ish. I don’t really have any anger at it though, just confusion.