Parents Give it to me straight!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

2kidsonaroll

Proud Parent
What is the yearly or monthly cost of your daughter being on a JO gymnastics team? I am totally new to this, my daughter is in preschool rec classes and is obsessed! She’s pretty good for her age and the coaches seem really interested in her (teaching her skills and technique they don’t do with the other kids) I know nothing about gymnastics but her class is at the same time as the level 9 and 10s. One of their moms mentioned they assumed my daughter was on the track for being invited to team (note: this would be a couple years in the future and who really know if that is what’s actually happening). But she definitely was trying to get me to run on the opposite direction. She mentioned the cost of Leo’s, warm ups, coaches fees, meet fees, gym membership, choreography etc...it seemed really a bizarre conversation to me, for a stranger to try and get a toddler to quit a sport do to cost? But now I’m curious...how much do you pay for your child in team gymnastics? Should I run?

My daughter is a new level 4, and between monthly tuition and meet fees, coaches fees, comp attire, etc...it’s $7,000 this year. That does not include travel expenses, leotards, grips, etc....

In NY, 500 a month tuition, plus summer camp, LEOs, warm up, meets (gymnasts pay and you pay for the privilege to watch), coaches fees and expenses. Then there is the mandatory (really we don’t have to go, but yeah I’m not telling my kid no end of year party), fun celebrations/parties.

We are lucky, our gym is actually cost conscious. We don’t have many meets that require flights and overnights.

When all is said and done 7-10 grand a year.