Parents Growth mindset help

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A's Mom

Proud Parent
My 9-year-old L4 is on a great path and continually improving...except for vault. It's now at a point where she believes she's just not good at it, and no matter what she tries, she'll score poorly and that's just that. One of the things I love about gymnastics is how it instills a growth mindset in the kids, even if they don't know it. ("I'm not good at this new skill yet, but I'll work my hardest and keep trying, and then I'll get it, just like I've done before.") But her attitude around vault is not at all growth right now. I'm worried it's at least partially her vault coach, who is, of course, the gym owner. She's very demanding and yells at them a lot. A compliment from her is something you earn, but now my kid just feels like she's never good enough, and never will be. So I need advice on two things:
1. I'd like to get her a couple vault privates with another coach. I don't want to offend the gym owner. I don't have time for that. But my kid doesn't respond to her, so privates with her would be a waste of time. How do I tactfully ask for that?
2. I want to help my kid believe in herself again. What worked for you?

Honestly, one-on-one mental training. We tried it all. Privates. Motivational/Goal books. Meditation. Oils. The ONLY things that helped were a positive gym environment and one-on-one mental training. My biggest regret is that we didn't start it sooner. I did try, but we had the hardest time finding someone who was a good fit.